Favorites of 2016

h

appy New Year Everyone! 2016 has been a wild ride! But nonetheless, we have made it to a new year with much new excitement to be looking forward to! As we enter into the new year, we can reminisce about our time in 2016. Something I am reminiscing about are my favorites. I have had quite some favorites this past year, but only a few have been some of my all-time favorites. So without further ado, here are my favorites of 2016!

FASHION

First are my fashion favorites. My first fashion favorite are these black pointed toe Chelsea boots from Old Navy. Ever since I purchased these, they have been my go-to shoes!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

They are super comfortable and match everything with their black color. As well as add a little interest to any outfit with the pointed toe.

My last fashion favorite is this rose gold Michael Kors watch that my mother let me take from her jewelry box. When it comes to jewelry I usually like to keep it simple, and a classic watch like this definitely meets that.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Ever since I have gotten this piece, I have worn it pretty much every day. I love the color of the metal on my skin time and it has honestly become my go-to staple.

BEAUTY

For beauty favorites, my number one would be this Calvin Klein Euphoria perfume. I was gifted it in for in February for Valentine’s Day and have worn it every day ever since.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

 The perfume is long lasting and smells amazing! With a mixture that is fruity and flowery, yet sultry for a mature vibe. It has definitely become my signature scent.

My next beauty favorite is the NYX Lip Lingerie in Beauty Mark. Ever since I got very into makeup, I have constantly been on the hunt for the perfect nude lip color to compliment my skin tone. I am glad to say that I have finally found it!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Towards the middle of November, while watching YouTube, I came across the Youtuber House of Aesthetic and saw her wearing this nude lip color and it looked great. We are pretty much the same skin tone so, I thought I would go out and buy it. And it has honestly been the best thing ever! The color is perfect!

MUSIC

For music this year, my genre choices have been concentrated on multiple spectrums. Either I am really into listening music with hip-hop/R&B or electronic beats and bass or music with chill and relaxing vibes to afro-beats of African music. I have also been loving listening to entire albums as well.

2016-albums

For albums, my all-time favorites this year have been loving Last Year Was Complicated album by Nick Jonas, Broods’ Conscious album, Solange’s A Seat at the Table, and the Weeknd’s New Starboy album.

Along with albums also have a lot of individual songs I have been loving this year. You can see the list of my top favorite songs of the year on my Spotify.

MISC.

A random favorite of mine has been the app VSCO. This app has been my go-to in editing my photos for both Instagram and my blog. It makes a huge difference, as seen below.

before

It is very easy to use and has so many natural filters and options that are great for color correcting.

Hope you all have a great New Year! Thanks for reading! What were your favorites for 2016?

alexandra

Leave a Reply

